The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (the group responsible for selecting the Academy Award winners), has extended invitations to 683 new members.  "A breakdown provided by the academy noted that 46 percent of those being offered membership are women and 41 percent are people of color, which will raise the percentages within the organization to 27 percent and 11 percent, respectively.“  Some of the new invited members include "John Boyega (of "Star Wars: The Force Awakens”), Idris Elba, Anthony Anderson, Regina King, Michelle Rodriguez, Daniel Dae Kim, Freida Pinto and America Ferrera, “Creed’s” Ryan Coogler, and Lana and Lilly Wachowski, the siblings responsible for “The Matrix” trilogy.“