According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, the state of Ohio experienced an extreme shortage of rain for 2016.  At least 54 percent of Ohio was reported to be abnormally dry in more than 20 counties leading to extensive crop damage.  Corn by far suffered the worst, which in the Midwest, means a big hit to agriculture and farming exports.

In an effort to assist, the Small Business Administration (SBA) announced that there will be federal loans to help small businesses and organizations, “recover from economic injuries resulting from the 2016 drought are available in eight Ohio counties.”

According to a recent SBA report, “small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and private nonprofit organizations in those counties are eligible to apply.” The counties that are eligible to apply are Ashland, Coshocton, Delaware, Holmes, Knox, Licking, Morrow, and Richland. Applications must be submitted no later than Oct. 24. Please visit the website below to apply:

Leave a Reply