NASCAR and Chevrolet announced the recipients of the third annual NASCAR Chevrolet Diversity Scholarship Contest.  Four undergraduate students from around the country won a total of $20,000 in scholarships based on their knowledge of technology and innovation in the sport of NASCAR.  Each student was treated to a VIP experience at the Monster Energy NASCAR Sprint Cup race, the AAA Texas 500.

According to ESPN, the “contest challenged students to identify a technology or innovation within NASCAR, then explain how Science, Technology, Engineering & Math (STEM) professionals came to its design in 90-second videos. Video submissions were judged on technical accuracy, creativity and production quality.”  The winners included

  • First place: Cindy Yen; sophomore – University of Southern California, $10,000
  • Second Place: Weston Dell: freshman – University of Notre Dame, $5,000
  • Third Place: Nima Desai: University of Houston, $2,5000
  • Fourth Place: Nicole Forero: freshman – Broward College, $2,500