Within the Supplier Diversity and Small Business industries, a Certifying Agency or Council is an external organization that verifies the ownership and operational status of a company.  To do this, a Certifying Agency  handles the Certification authentication process for the business including the business, financial, and ownership review.  Certifying Agencies may also complete site visits and interviews depending on the organization performing the business verification.

Certifying Agencies may be  federal, state, or city departments as well as nationally recognized third party certifying organizations.

Well known federal and third party Certifying Agencies include (does not include city and state government certifications):

Disabled-Owned Business
US Business Leadership Network Disability Supplier Diversity Program

Canadian Aboriginal and Minority Supplier Council
Minority Supplier Development in China
Supply Nation (Australia)
The South African Supplier Development Council

LGBT-Owned Business
National Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce

Minority-Owned Business
Alaska Native Corporations
National Minority Supplier Development Council

Veteran-Owned Business
National Veteran Business Development Council
National Women Business Owners Corporation – Veteran Businesses
Veteran-Owned Small Business Program

Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Business
Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business Concern Program
US Business Leadership Network Disability Supplier Diversity Program

Small Business
Small Business Administration
8(a) Business Development Program
HUBZone – Historically Underutilized Business Zones Program

Woman-Owned Business
National Women Business Owners Corporation
WeConnect International 
Women’s Business Enterprise National Council
Women Owned Small Business

Leave a Reply