The North American Industry Classification System or NAICS is the standard used by the public and private sectors of Canada, Mexico, and the United States for the purpose of collecting, classifying, analyzing, and publishing statistical data relevant to the business economy.  It was created for the purpose of replacing the older Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system (to much success), however some government departments still use SIC codes.

The NAICS numbering system employs a five or six-digit code covering the following industry levels

  • The first two digits describes the largest business sector
  • The third digit describes its subsector
  • The fourth digit describes the industry group
  • The fifth digit describes the NAICS code appointed industry or industries
  • The sixth digit describes the national industry or industries

To search for a specific NAICS code, please visit

NAICS Code 2017 List

Leave a Reply