The United Nations Standard Products and Services Code (UNSPSC) is a code set managed by GS1 for the UN Development Programme (UNDP), offering a five level hierarchy used to classify products and services used in eCommerce.  The code is an eight to ten digit number that is similar to other coding schemes including the European Union’s Common Procurement Vocabulary, Germany’s Eclass, and GS1’s Global Product Classification.  As of 2016, the code set includes just over 19,000 numerical descriptions.

Below is a quick explanation of the hierarchy used in UNSPSC Code sets

  • Number2 1 and 2: Segment
  • Numbers 3 and 4: Family
  • Numbers 5 and 6: Class
  • Numbers 7 and 8: Commodity
  • Numbers 9 and 10: Business Function (Optional)

To download the complete code set please CLICK HERE.  The free PDF version can be accessed towards the bottom of the page.

Leave a Reply