Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

The Federal minimum wage for America is $7.25 per hour. While many states have a higher minimum wage, some states do not have a specific minimum stated at all. Below is a quick look at each state and their own individual minimum wage. Wondering what your state minimum is? We have it here!

States with no specified minimum wage where federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour applies.

Alabama, Idaho, Indiana , Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin

States with set minimum wage that are the same, higher, or lower (in one state) than the federal minimum wage of $7,25 per hour

  • Alaska – $9.89 from $9.84 with annual minimum wage adjustment for inflation and at least $1 over the federal rate.
  • Arizona – $11.00 from $10 per hour
  • Arkansas – $9.25 from $8.50 per hour with more increases due to meet the target of $11 by 2021.
  • California – $12 from $11 per hour; $11 from $10.50 (25 employees or less)
  • Colorado – $10.20 to $11.10 from $10.20 per hour
  • Connecticut – $10.10 per hour.
  • Delaware – $8.75 from $8.25 per hour, to increase to $9.25 effective October 1
  • District of Columbia – $13.25 from $12.50 per hour
  • Florida – $8.46 from $8.25 per hour with adjustment for inflation in 2019.
  • Georgia – Georgia’s $7.25 per hour but actual is $5.15 for those not covered under the Fair Labor Standards Act
  • Hawaii – $10.10 per hour, no increase for 2019
  • Illinois – $8.25 per hour, no increase for 2019. $11 and $12 in Cook County and Chicago respectively
  • Maine – $11 from $10 per hour.
  • Maryland – $10.10 from $9.25 per hour
  • Massachusetts – $12 from $11 per hour, increases due in the next four years until it reaches $15 per hour.
  • Michigan – $9.25 to increase to $9.45 per hour in March 2019
  • Minnesota – $8.01 per hour and $9.86 per hour (50 workers or more)
  • Missouri – $8.60 from $7.85 per hour
  • Montana – $8.50 from $8.30 per hour
  • Nebraska – $9 per hour
  • Nevada – $7.25 per hour for those earning qualified health benefits and $8.25 for non-qualified
  • New Jersey – $8.85 from $8.60 per hour.
  • New Mexico – $7.50 per hour.
  • New York – $11.10 per hour but to increase to $11.80 on year-end. Higher rates in New York City, Long Island, and Westchester
  • Ohio – $8.55 from $8.30 per hour
  • Oregon – $10.75 per hour
  • Rhode Island – $10.50 from $10.10 per hour.
  • South Dakota – $9.10 from $8.85 per hour
  • Vermont – $10.78 from $10.50 per hour and indexed for inflation
  • Washington – $12 from $11.50 per hour and to increase to $13.50 in 2020
  • West Virginia – $8.75 per hour
  • Wyoming – $5.15 per hour for employees not covered by FLSA and $7.25 per hour for the rest